Posted by: tathsing | September 15, 2008

I Am Proud To Be Malaysian

As Malaysia celebrated its 45th year of formation, our great nation is facing another period of uncertainty. The wonderful Vision 2020 suddenly seems to be as far as Luke Skywalker in another dimension.

With more and more ‘rakyat’ of Malaysia relying on the blogs and internet online news portal such as Malaysiakini, news spread faster unlike the days of old.

My daughter asked me the other night, why is ‘kung-kung’ older than Malaysia, refering to her grandfather age. I explained that its because when ‘kung-kung’ was born Malaysia did not exist yet.

Malaysia was formed on 16 September 1963 when Malaya came together as one with Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak. This reminds me of the various debate and opinions on the date of our independance celebrations. Is it 51 year or 45 year?

My two cents worth of arguements are Do you count your date of birth from the day you were conceived or the day you were born? Thus, our leaders should set this right.

We can’t talk about national integration and national unity when this basic date of independence is still not cleared up especially among the people of Sabah and Sarawak.

Currently, I am not happy with what is happening in Malaysia. The political uncertainty, where the Pakatan Alliance led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has been saying, “they have the number” but yet nothing had happened yet.

On the other side, the government with a comfortable majority in Parliament has shot itself in the feet time after time. Instead of enjoying the fruit of its majority and getting down to work for the ‘rakyat’, it is acting like a government under siege.

Why do I say so? I remember in my younger days there was no such things as other races being accused of being “squatters”. For the record my best friends in primary and secondary school were Malays and they are Sulaiman Wahid and Johan Amilin Samad. There was no incident of anyone being arrested under ISA for their own safety. There are many more happening.

With the recent developments in Malaysia, the only positive thing is that those doing political science courses have their hands full with lots of research materials and happenings!

All these boils down to leadership. As I always share with my members during my time in Junior Chamber, you can choose to be a leader or a manager. A leader is one who leads and create something out of nothing. A manager is someone who only manage with whatever he has.

At the moment, what our nation needs is someone to lead. “To take charge”, as one of my National Executive Vice President Christopher used to say.

For that to happen, we te ‘rakyat’, the true Malaysians must now stand up and be counted. If we want to protest against the ISA, we must protest against the EO and other draconian laws. We are doing it not because of any individuals. We are doing it because its these individuals which arouse our awareness.

Will change happen? Yes, I say. Why? Because the change comes from myself. By writing this blog for the first time, I am challenging myself to change by voicing out.

Happy 45th Malaysia Day!

I leave with a quotation from Lao-Tzu, “The wicked leader is he who the people despise. The good leader is he who the people revere. The great leader is he who the people say, ‘We did it ourselves.'”

Responses

  1. Me too Tony. I always remember an Englishman saying to me first “Where are you from..? I said Malaysia Then he said,”Apa Khabar Kawan.?”Bagus kah di England.” That has made Proud to be identified as a Malaysian not . “By the way,I thank GOD for making me a Malaysian eversince the day I was born.” Good article and very appropriate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

