Posted by: tathsing | December 22, 2009

Happy Dong Zhi (Winter Solstice) Festival

These balls of rice flour known as tang yuan.

Today marks a special day as its the traditional Dong Zhi or Winter Solstice Festival day. In my younger days it was time where family get together and have their dinner which is as important as the pre Chinese New Year Family Reunion dinner. My mother would cook up the best meals.

Today with all of us grown up mother do not cook anymore because of her old age condition. As for me, its away from home in the nation’s capital. How time flies. It seems only yesterday that I was a kid but now being a father myself I hope to allow my children to savor what I went through. The strong family values and bonding that are important to today’s society.

Hmmm…. I am waffling a lot again as I isten to Christmas songs writing here to wish everyone a Happy Dong Zhi (Winter Solstice) Festival !

May God Bless us all with good health and success always!

Leave a Reply

Categories

